Fashion Police: Analysing Yeovil Town’s 2017/18 home shirt

Aside from Fixture Release Day and pre-season friendlies, Yeovil launching their new kit is one of the most exciting moments of the summer for Glovers fans.

This season, the home shirt had been hinted at with close-up images before finally being fully revealed today on the club’s Twitter account.

And, well, it’s rather nice!

The shirt is a unique design to say the least with different sized green stripes, different coloured sleeves and a one-button collar.

Since the first kit they made for Yeovil back in 2013, manufacturers Sondico have proven that they like to be unique, although their weird and wonderful designs have sometimes felt like they were making changes just for the sake of making changes.

There’s a part of me that wishes we could have the same beautifully simplistic style that the company have given to Portsmouth. Even leaving out the black sleeves last year would have helped!

Having said that, I’m a fan of this season’s effort and the more I see of it, the more I like it. I’m certainly pleased to see that the strip is more green than white, and the sponsor’s logo seems to be printed onto the shirt as opposed to just ironed on.

Unfortunately, there is one quibble I have, and I’m sure you’ll be able to guess what it is. That’s right – the three stars above the badge!

The club have revealed that the stars each represent five seasons in the Football League. For me, that’s not enough of an achievement to warrant them, especially considering we haven’t even completed our 15th EFL campaign yet.

However, I won’t let that get in the way of what is a very smart kit. It may still be a little ‘busy’ for my taste, but it’s still probably one of my favourites from recent years and I’m looking forward to buying it when it goes on sale at the start of July.

Bring on the away kit – red and black please!

Leave a Reply

